90's Kids Stuff

Your source for all things 1990's

Best Songs of the 1990’s

It is now time for the very first 90’s kids stuff music blog post! I have covered sports, movies, and television from the 1990’s, so now I will give a shout out to all the music fans out there. Future music posts will include great bands, terrific music videos, and outstanding one hit wonders. However, for this post, I am counting down my ten favorite songs from the 90’s. I am a fan of numerous genres of music such as rap/hip hop, pop, rock, and even some techno. For this list, I searched through the 659 songs on my iPod, picked out 20 or so great songs from the 90’s, and then narrowed those down to the top ten. Did your favorite make the list? Let’s find out…

10. Macarena by Los del Rio

This is one of those songs that is arguably more popular for its dance. During the 1990’s, it was probably for common to “do the macarena” rather than “listen to the macarena”. One of my sister’s names is Magdalena, so I used to make fun of her, sometimes replacing her for Macarena. Another very unique thing about this choice is that a good amount of the lyrics are in Spanish. Lastly, who doesn’t find the two men in the music video hilariously entertaining?

9. Tubthumping by Chumbawamba

This is such a repetitive song, yet it is so amazingly catchy! Chumbawamba is one of a handful of groups here that are probably one hit wonders. Well, if this is there only one hit, it was a pretty good one.

8. All Star by Smash Mouth

I remember in elementary school gym class we used to listen to this song when we were doing our activities. It was awesome! When the song came out, I loved it. Then, for some reason I went through a phase where I thought the song was annoying, so I didn’t like it. Now, more than ten years after the song’s release, I love it again. Good news is that this song will never go away. It is always a perfect song for MLB and NBA All-Star game commercials and such. Oh, my God! Is that Dane Cook, Ben Stiller, Kel Mitchell, and William H. Macy all in the same music video?!?! Yes, yes it is.

7. Send Me On My Way by Rusted Root

“SMOMW” is a very different song from what I normally listen to, but who cannot love this song? I’m willing to bet that the first ten or more times that you heard this song, you were unable to tell what they were saying when singing “send me on my way”. It is hard to distinguish those lyrics, but what’s not hard to distinguish is how great this song is. It just has to put you in a good mood, and put a smile on your face. By the way, I kind of made up that “SMOMW” acronym, but whatever.

6. Big Poppa by The Notorious B.I.G.

I think one of the first times I heard this song was during the movie, “Hardball”. This is a fantastic movie, and if you haven’t seen it, you definitely should. Don’t be turned off by the fact that Keanu Reeves stars in it. If you look past him, it’s a great movie. Anyways… there were a few Biggie Smalls songs that could have taken this spot, including: Hypnotize, Mo Money Mo Problems, and Juicy, by “Big Poppa” is definitely his best song.

5. Iris by Goo Goo Dolls

The Goo Goo Dolls have had so many huge hits, but this is maybe there biggest one. Special shout outs to “Black Balloon”, “Slide”, and “Give a Little Bit” which narrowly missed the cut, or where from the 2000’s. The Goo Goo Dolls haven’t had any huge, popular hits lately, but I’m hoping and thinking that they are far from done.

4. Good Riddance (Time of Your Life) by Green Day

On the whole, I’m not really a huge fan of Green Day. That being said, there are a few songs by them that I like listening to. Good Riddance is by far my favorite of their songs, and also one of the best songs of the 90’s. I’m not really sure where it got its title from, but it’s not the first song on this list where the title is not said or not the main lyric to the song. See “Tubthumping”, and “Iris”. Isn’t this basically the perfect graduation song?

3. Blue (Da Ba Dee) by Eiffel 65

This song was soooooooooooo popular when it came out. Literally everyone in my school was listening and singing this song, and for good reason. Yet another probable one hit wonder, Eiffel 65 really hit it big with this tune. What a weird music video this is!

2. Take a Picture by Filter

I don’t think I had ever heard this song until I saw the movie “The Girl Next Door”. Great movie by the way. The movie came out in 2004, so five years after the songs release. Even though I was a little late in hearing this song, I still love it.

1. You Get What You Give by New Radicals

Interesting beginning to this song. Interesting music video. Phenomenal song. I don’t think I know of any other songs by New Radicals, but that’s okay. “You Get What You Give” should count as like ten songs combined. This is my favorite and in my opinion best song of the 1990’s, and it’s probably in my top five songs of all time!

November 2, 2011 - Posted by | Music | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

